Health Service Board

The CAHS Board is the governing body of CAHS. Appointed by the Minister for Health, members have experience across the fields of medicine and health care, finance, law, and community and consumer engagement.

There are four standing committees of the Board, made up of Board members:

  • Finance
  • Audit and Risk
  • Safety and Quality
  • People, Culture and Capability.

The Clinical Advisory Group, comprised of staff from across CAHS, also advises the Board on strategic issues.

Board members

Photo of Debbie Karasinski


Board Chair, Ms Debbie Karasinski AM

M.Sc., B.AppSc., OTR

Ms Debbie Karasinski was appointed to the CAHS Board as its inaugural Chair in 2016. She has worked in the health and disability sectors for the past 35 years. Her career has included Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Senses Australia, CEO of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of WA, and Chief Occupational Therapist at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital (SCGH). Ms Karasinski has extensive Board experience, most notably as a member of the National Disability Services Board, the WA Disability Services Commission Board and the Taxi Industry Board. She is currently a member of the Board of the Perth Clinic and Chair of the Curtin University, Health Sciences Faculty, Advisory Council. Debbie Karasinski was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in 2019 for her contribution to people with disability and the Western Australian community and a Centenary Award in 2001 for her work with people with Multiple Sclerosis.

 Photo of Geoffrey Dobb  

Deputy Board Chair, Professor Geoffrey J Dobb


Professor Geoffrey Dobb is Head of the Intensive Care Unit at Royal Perth Hospital and is a Board member on the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards. Former Chair of the Southern Country Health Service Governing Council, Professor Dobb has vast clinical experience and knowledge of WA Health. He also has had considerable experience on the Boards of healthcare associated organisations, with an interest in organisational governance.
 Miriam Bowen    

Ms Miriam Bowen


Ms Bowen is currently self-employed as consultant health lawyer to private health, aged and community care clients. She was Senior Legal Counsel for St John of God Health Care from 2010–18 and previously worked as a lawyer for Mercy Care. Ms Bowen specialises in clinical risk and governance which covers a range of legal issues arising in the health care sector. Prior to her legal work, she was a registered nurse with experience in acute clinical areas of private and public health. Ms Bowen holds a Bachelor of Laws and Diploma of Nursing qualifications. She has been a member of the CAHS Board since September 2018. 


 Photo of Kathleen Bozanic    

Ms Kathleen Bozanic


Ms Kathleen Bozanic is a senior finance executive with over 25 years experience and significant leadership roles as Partner of a leading professional services firm and as a Chief Financial Officer/General Manager of mining and construction companies. Ms Bozanic brings extensive experience in financial management, governance and compliance, risk management, business planning and strategic transformation, and a keen interest in WA Health. Ms Bozanic has significant Board experience in both not-for-profit and listed organisations, and is currently on the Boards of IGO Limited, DRA Global Limited, Great Southern Mining Limited, Western Australian Rugby Union,  and Future Force Foundations and is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee of KUFPEC Australia Pty Ltd. 


 Photo of Anne Donaldson  

Ms Linley (Anne) Donaldson

M.HMgt, B.AppSc., Postgrad Bus, GAICD

Ms Linley (Anne) Donaldson is a former Director for the Health and Disability Service Complaints Office; a position that involved strategic leadership in the oversight and management of health, disability and mental health complaints. Ms Donaldson has worked in the health sector for most of her career in a range of positions, and has a depth of experience and understanding of finance, audit, and safety and quality.

Photo of Alexius Julian  

Dr Alexius Julian


Dr Alexius Julian is a highly-skilled clinician with significant experience in Information and Communications Technology (ICT) across health care. In particular, Dr Julian has previously served as the Chief Medical Information Officer at the St John of God Health Care Group, was a Clinical Lead in the commissioning of ICT at Fiona Stanley Hospital, and has also worked as a Medical Leadership Adviser for the Institute of Health Leadership. 
 Photo of Daniel McAullay  

Dr Daniel McAullay

Ph.D, M AppEpi, B.Sc.

Dr Daniel McAullay is a health professional and a past member of the CAHS Governing Council, and has extensive experience as a member on health Boards and committees. A Research Associate Professor with the Centre for Improving Health Services for Aboriginal Children, Dr McAullay’s primary research areas of interest include maternal, infant and child health and primary health care, and he has specialised in Aboriginal health research. 
 Photo of Peter Mott  

Mr Peter Mott

Dip.HospAdmin, B.Bus; MIR; Grad Cert Lship

Mr Peter Mott has more than 35 years of health and executive management experience that includes the role of CEO of public and private hospitals in both charitable and for profit sectors.  Mr Mott is currently CEO of Hollywood Private Hospital, a member of the Australian Private Hospitals Association (APHA) National Board and National Council and is Chair of the Workforce Taskforce, a member of the University of Western Australia (UWA) Business School Ambassadorial Council and a member of the Young Lives Matter Foundation UWA Board of Trustees.  Peter is a past Vice President of the Australasian College of Health Service Management WA Branch Council, past President of the Australian Institute of Management (AIM) WA, past Chairman of the AIM WA UWA Business School Executive Education Advisory Board, past Chairman of Lifeline WA, and past Deputy Chairman of John XXIII College. He is a Life Member/ Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australasian College of Health Service Management.

 Photo of Maria Osman  

Maria Osman


Maria Osman is an experienced Board Executive and Diversity Consultant with over 30 years’ experience advising governments, the private and public sectors and universities on cultural diversity, human rights and gender equality.  Ms Osman has held Executive Director roles in the Office of Multicultural Interests, Office for Women’s Policy, and the Department Communities and Local Government.  In 2015 she was an Australian delegate to the 59th Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women in New York.  Ms Osman currently serves as the Board Chair of the Humanitarian Group, Advisory Board Member to the Public Policy Institute at the University of Western Australia, Member of the Premier’s Supporting Communities Forum, Member of the Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests Advisory Group and Council Member of the National Harmony Alliance for Migrant and Refugee Women.  
 Photo of Di Twigg  


Professor Di Twigg AM

PhD, MBA, B.HlthSc. (Nsg) Hons, RN, RM, FACN, FACHSM

Professor Di Twigg (PhD, MBA, B.HlthSc. (Nsg) Hons, RN, RM, FACN, FACHSM) is Executive Dean of the School of Nursing and Midwifery at Edith Cowan University. Professor Twigg has worked in the health sector for over 35 years and held several senior health executive roles, most notably as Executive Director of Nursing Services at SCGH. She was awarded the Life Time Achievement Honour in 2017, and in 2019 was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to nursing through a range of leadership, education and advisory roles. 

Last Updated: 28/07/2020